Where it all started

“When was the last time you took a second to celebrate how awesome you are? Don’t minimize your accomplishments and how far you’ve come.” – @krysta_masciale

When this tweet showed up on my page earlier this week, it made me stop and think about when I first started sewing again. My grandmother first taught me to sew when I was about 9 yrs old, wish I still had the pillow to show you!

Since I have picked sewing back up, I find myself quickly over looking the progress made. My first reason for breaking the machine out again was because I had chosen nursery colors that did not have boyish designs. I knew pretty soon after the positive pregnancy test that yellow & grey were the colors I wanted for my nursery set up. These are not the best pictures and not my best work.

Thanks to my crafty friends who helped me along with working with and without patterns for the first time.

Since keeping the sewing machine around and sewing at least once a week if not daily, I’ve recently began to make myself notice the improvement in my sewing. My ability to work through a pattern ON my own and even design patterns OF my own. Sometimes it is easy to get wrapped up in a new project or the mistakes of one, I’m in the middle of, then the cycle of disappointment and frustration sets in and for a bit I can easily forget the joys of sewing.

It is gratifying every once in a while to stop what you are doing remember where you came from, appreciate the progress and improvements.

Leave a Reply

