First quilt fears….

On my bucket “sewing” list is to sew a quilt. I decided that since I am completely redesigning Damiao’s new room this is the perfect time to quilt. So far, I have the fabric purchased along with the batting AND that is as far as I have gotten. I adore the Birch Organic Fabrics! For little guy’s room, I decided to go with the “To Work, Commute” &  “Cars Natural Circa 52” 

Yes, I do believe I am now at the over-thinking point 🙂 I keep looking at different patterns, tutorials and lessons about quilting… instead of actually quilting. My idea is to keep it simple — mainly because of my newbie-ness. Here are the quilt ideas I am tossing around. Any suggestions, comments, and tips on quilting are very, very welcome.

Even though this one is a block design, off Sew, Mama, Sew, I actually like it as a complete quilt. Simple, clean, and the horizontal lines would pair well with the To Work , Commute fabric.

This tutorial, from A Pretty Cool Life, is super simple to follow which is appealing to the newbie here!

This design from Mangolime, I just love the circles in this one!

Tagged:

10 thoughts on “First quilt fears….

  1. mmeschmitz April 22, 2012 at 4:11 pm Reply

    I think the first design would be awesome with the fabrics you’ve chosen!! But the others are cute too! I can imagine the second one with letters on the flags for an ABC quilt and the last one with prominent color circles as a color-learning quilt. 🙂

    • maewares April 22, 2012 at 9:16 pm Reply

      I agree… totally leaning towards the first image. The ideas of using the alphabet and colors to double as learning tools… Genius! May have just added 2 more quilts to my sewing list.

      • mmeschmitz April 22, 2012 at 10:07 pm

        Thanks! I thought they were good ideas! Glad to add to your list! 🙂

  2. Tristan Tuttle April 22, 2012 at 10:17 pm Reply

    I like all of these! I like the bunting one the best because i love bunting.

    • maewares April 25, 2012 at 12:27 pm Reply

      Tristan you should serious consider one, too! I am doing some coordinating bunting on the bookshelves in Damiao’s room… you will have to come by and see!

  3. sukiesews April 23, 2012 at 5:36 am Reply

    These are all wonderfully cute kiddo quilts. The first one is going to be the easiest for a first timer. You’re going to get it done faster, too. Then on to the next! Like potato chips, no one can make just one! Can’t wait to see your results!

    • maewares April 25, 2012 at 12:26 pm Reply

      “Then on to the next! Like potato chips, no one can make just one!”

      I can already sense how addicting quilting can be…. already planning another! hah

    • Shobha May 23, 2012 at 6:59 am Reply

      Oh, I so wish I knew how to sew! I use my hot glue gun instead, aluohtgh I have found it can’t take the place of a sewing machine 😦 I’ve used my hot glue gun to make fabric pillows (winged it). Some fabric ideas: I use fabric as a matte in picture frames, and it adds a lot of color to a room. You could also frame a piece of fabric. I also wrap candles with fabric, and secure the ends with hot glue. You can change all of these fabric ideas with the seasons.

  4. An Everyday Story April 24, 2012 at 1:42 am Reply

    I definitely want to tackle a quilt. I haven’t attempted something quite that complicated before but my friend is due to have a baby soon and I love thought of a homemade cot quilt. I really like the the circles and the colour spectrum would be beautiful. I think a straight-line one like the first would be easier though…..hmmm decisions, decisions 🙂

Leave a Reply

