Family Cloth

Warning for the not-so-crunchy and weak-at-heart…. This is super crunchy!

As the little guy’s first birthday is fast approaching, toilet-learning has been on my mind. The plan is to start once he is walking….this might be the reason he refuses to take more than a few steps. Along with preparing an area for toilet-learning, I’ve given a lot of thought about whether to introduce toilet paper to him or continue with his cloth wipes. It makes more sense to have him keep to cloth wipes when using the toilet. Well, that is all money-saving and earth-friendly, so I am clearly game! Anyways– have you seen how most toddlers are with toilet paper?!

A Big thank you to the sweet Mama who is letting me use this photo of her boys!

Then it hit me…… Why am I going to make my son continue with cloth wipes while I am still using toilet paper. It made loads of sense switching from disposable wipes to cloth wipes for his bum, but never till now have I thought twice about it for myself. After realizing how much it started to bother me that I would use “normal” toilet paper, I’ve decided to take the plunge! Last night I wiped up a batch of family cloth, as it’s called in the cloth world. Family cloth, aka cloth-reusable- toilet “paper”

The set up seemed simple enough since the diaper pail is already beside the toilet. So I found a basket with a lid and — done!

Once the cloth has been used then toss into the pail with the diapers. Seriously could not be simpler, I just wash them right along with the little guy’s diapers and wipes.

4 thoughts on “Family Cloth

  1. Sarah R. May 31, 2012 at 3:21 pm Reply

    awesome! I have considered doing this since I started using cloth menstrual pads, just haven’t taken the plunge yet.

    • maewares May 31, 2012 at 3:51 pm Reply

      I had already been planning on doing the cloth menstrual pads as well. Once I got over the icky factor of cloth diapering, now I am all for going totally cloth!

      • Sarah R. May 31, 2012 at 7:23 pm

        Awesome! I think cloth is way more comfortable anyways, so it really hasn’t been much of a “sacrifice” or anything, though It does seem to definitely be the “icky factor” that gets people. I guess being around babies/kids and having a biologist for a dad has given me a high “icky” tolerance, lol.

      • maewares May 31, 2012 at 11:38 pm

        Agree! Cloth is 100 times more comfortable than any of the other stuff on the market, no matter what it is diapers, feminine products, or toilet paper. Once you realize you are not having to purchase those items regularly it’s encouragement that you made a good choice. I have that feeling every-time I’m in line at the store and see a mom who is purchasing the cases of disposables.

Leave a Reply

