Before/After : Ikea Hack

Here are some photos of my recent Ikea Hack for D’s room. I had been searching for a good, Montessori-size table and chair set for him, BUT wanted to something cute and fun. Thanks to Free-cycle I came upon this set: Wish I had thought to snap a photo of how badly marked up and painted on this set was. Oh well a fresh coat of Valspar Gilded Pesto and volia! Had some help cutting the legs to suit the little guy’s height.Laminate fabric from my favorite, Just Laminates, to cover up the crayon markings on the table top — which will be perfect for messy paint activities. Which will be perfect for messy paint activities. This set up makes for the best and cheapest craft table for the little guy.

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Before/After : Ikea Hack

  1. ababblingbenson August 5, 2012 at 12:41 pm Reply

    Looks awesome. What is Free-cycle? I love the end result and how it’s the perfect size for D!

    • maewares August 5, 2012 at 1:47 pm Reply

      Thanks! Free-cycle is a Yahoo! Group where people in your area post items that they just want gone and out of their house. Sometimes you can find some treasures.

  2. Leah August 5, 2012 at 4:07 pm Reply

    Love it!!

  3. Jennifer November 16, 2013 at 12:05 am Reply

    Can you please tell me what you used to apply the fabric to the table top and chair?

    • maewares November 16, 2013 at 9:15 pm Reply

      I order ALL my laminate fabric from Just Laminates on Etsy! They always have an amazing selection. http://goo.gl/gucid0

  4. Jennifer November 16, 2013 at 9:51 pm Reply

    Thank you for your quick response, I realize that this post is a few years old.
    I apologize if my question was unclear. I do already have the fabric (ordered from etsy like you suggested), but I would like to know what glue/adhesive you used to apply the fabric to the table&chair.
    Thank you for this idea, I have been itching to fix up this table for a while now!

    • maewares November 16, 2013 at 9:58 pm Reply

      I used spray adhesive the strongest one I could find! If I did it again I would pop the table top and chair covers out of place spray the fabric on then piece the entire thing back together.

  5. Jennifer November 16, 2013 at 11:01 pm Reply

    Got it, thank you SO much for the info!

Leave a Reply

